Welcome to Xi'an Jiaotong University!

XJTU wins women's doubles in China University Student Tennis Championships

August 23, 2023
  L M S


A group photo of the XJTU tennis team.


Li Mingyan and Zhang Yibing from XJTU's tennis team flash their skills in the competition.

The 26th China University Student Tennis Championship Finals, along with the 21st China University "President Cup" Tennis Tournament, were held in Zigong, Southwest China's Sichuan province, on Aug 10-17. The combination of Li Mingyan and Zhang Yibing from Xi'an Jiaotong University (XJTU)'s tennis team won the national women's doubles championship in the A group.

This victory marked the first time since a four-year hiatus that XJTU's tennis team had won the national finals in the women's doubles and made them the only tennis team to win the national championship twice in the northwest region.

The China University Student Tennis Championship is organized by the Chinese University Sports Association and is the most prestigious tennis event for university students in China.

Nearly 800 athletes from 110 universities participated in this edition of the event. The competition consists of both team and individual events, with divisions for men and women in the A group (ordinary group), B group (high-level group), C group (sports school group), and D group (super group). XJTU competed in the A group.